Recognition Organizations

Accreditors may be “recognized” by the U.S. Secretary of Education to indicate that they are reliable authorities on the quality of education or training provided by the programs and institutions they accredit. There are federal links (laws) that require recognition in order to participate in federal programs such as Title IV student loans and scholarships. Additional federal links include Veterans Affairs and Homeland Security laws, among others. Accreditors may also choose to be recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA), which is a non-governmental organization.

Recognition Organizations

CHEA – Council for Higher Education Accreditation

USDE – United States Department of Education

USDE Accreditation Table of Contents

This link will take you to information about the recognition process and to lists of accreditors recognized by the Secretary of Education.

NACIQI - National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity

The NACIQI provides recommendations to the Secretary of Education regarding the recognition of accrediting agencies.  The link takes you to information about the committee and its twice yearly meetings to review accreditors.

Recognition Documents